Vietnamese Rissoles

My mate has two gorgeous children and when they come visit I get to play horsey, peek a boo, and lifts going up and down. Practice all my favourite nursery singing and dancing, reading books and making sandwiches and cutting cucumbers. Love it, love it, love it.  It’s not just that they are cute and beautiful but they make you realize the important things in life are a smile, a warm hug and to know that you are loved.

It’s so much harder being a mum and my mate does such a great job, considering she is so generous with her time with charities, her extended family and to me. I am very blessed to have her in my life.

Mum made some nem noung for our lunch and I thought I would share the recipe with everyone. It’s like Aussie rissoles, they sell them during Chinese new year on BBQ’s, it’s skewered with no dipping sauce. Mum and Dad make it a little different which I think cuts preparation time by half, they flatten the mix, making a 2cm high rectangle, easier cooking as well.  Recipe feeds about 10

Ingredients and method

3 kilograms of maryland thigh fillets ( get the butcher to mince it twice)

Place in to a mixer Add 1 table spoon of salt, 1 table spoon of white pepper, ½ cup of crushed fresh garlic ( cut this back if you prefer) Mix well

Add 1 pack of nem noung powder ( you buy these at the asian grocer)

( I’m going to try to make my own mix and post it once i get it down pact)

Mix until well combine. Grab about a 2 cups worth, spread out the mixture on to some cling wrap. Leave in fridge to marinate at least 3 hours.

Cook on BBQ,  Let rest for 5 minutes before eating to let the meat cool down, which will changes the texture of the rissole.

Enjoy with fish sauce, rice noodles, and Vietnamese herbs.

This entry was posted in The Hungry Nest, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment