Fran finds her brekky bliss at The Cornershop

We are pleased this week to introduce our first cafe review from Nestlingblog friend Fran, owner of  SimplyWristbands (http://www.simplywristbands.com.au/; check out the kids ID bracelets).  Fran is the working mother of Pete (aged 2.5) and an avid member of the Western suburbs cafe seen.  Today’s she’s reviewing The Cornershop for us (Ballarat St, Yarraville)…

After being a loyal customer of ‘The Duchess of Spotswood’ for all of my Westside life I thought it was time to branch out and see what other cafe’s are buzzing around my neighbourhood. A quick flick through Urban spoon’s recommendations showed that Cornershop has a relatively high 85% approval rating and some seriously mouthwatering pics.  That’s it, I grab my friend Prue and we’re off to check it out.

From the outset you are led to believe that this is a small, cramped, uncomfortable little cafe which is why I had avoided dining there for so long.  Once inside, the large open windows give a great view of the street action. The rear of the cafe opens out into an enclosed courtyard which I suggest would be great for small kiddies in the summer (they can’t escape). We took a bench seat right in the window, score!   I already love this place.

So, what did we order? I’ll tell you later. Ok, ok, I’ll tell you now.

Prue had the Granola served with yoghurt and poached fruit. Lovely pink sticks of rhubarb and poached pear dusted with cinnamon.  They made a little mistake serving the yoghurt even though they had been warned of the lactose intolerance, hence the request of Soy Milk. Oh well, Prue is 24 weeks pregnant so I guess she was hungry, she ate it anyway and suffered the consequences. Aside from the small yoghurt incident I am told this granola was pretty damn good.

Ok, let’s get serious I’m always ready for a breakfast feast, I order the “Scrambled eggs with Cavolo Nero and soft herbs”  a side of Bacon and a side of Avocado. What’s cavolo nero? Well I don’t know- but it tasted absolutely delicious and looks like a small silver beet snipped to smithereens and folded through your eggs. I was impressed. Love the touch of a lemon wedge to freshen up the tastebuds during this deliciousness too.

Also worth mentioning is the Chai Tea. I asked for a chai latte, because some places serve it as a tea and others as a latte, you never know. She brought me a Chai Tea and a Cafe Latte. Sent the coffee back and enjoyed what was one of the best Chai Teas you can find on this side of the Bridge. Served in an old tin pot it oozes old world charm and you just want to jump inside with those swirling tea leaves and honey. Oh, this was a treat!

I don’t care that they made two mistakes in my first sitting, the food was so delicious and the staff are lovely and personable. I made my way back there with my son less than 24 hours later to do it all again. Little Pete, aged two and a half, enjoyed the ricotta pancakes with side of poached fruit.  It was another great food experience.

Gluten Free Bread Available? No.

High Chairs? No. But we did see a lot of kids coming in with their parents as Pete called from his seat “Hello Boy, Hello Girl, Hello Baby” as each one came in the door.

Music : ‘Whitest Boy Alive’ was playing at just the right level, it had both me and Pete rocking in our seats.  Considering this is my favourite album they were scoring massive points for musical excellence.

Kids Menu: No but they know exactly how to look after the little ones so don’t let this deter you.

Will I return? : I’m hooked. Look out Cornershop we will be back!

What’s your favourite breakfast spot? We want to know!

About nestlingblog

I'm a first time mum exploring all that comes with having little ones in your nest
This entry was posted in Nestlings on the move, The Hungry Nest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment